Changes to electoral registration in Britain

From 10 June 2014 new rules come in to force regarding registering to vote.

Under the new Individual Electoral Registration (IER) rules you will need to provide 'identifying information', such as your date of birth and national insurance number, when applying to register and your application will need to be verified before you are added to the register. Anyone unable to supply this information would be able to provide an alternative form of evidence of their identity.

Lambeth Council will be conducting a canvass of the borough to ensure that everyone gets registered under the new system. This will start towards the end of July and finish on 30 November 2014.

For more information please visit the IER website

Who can use this service

See our guide to elections to find out who can register.

What you need to know...

Monthly Registration Deadlines

If we get your application before Your details will be changed on
Friday 7 February 2014 Monday 17 February 2014
Monday 10 March 2014 Tuesday 1 April 2014
Friday 11 April 2014 Thursday 24 April 2014
Thursday 24 April 2014 Wednesday 7 May 2014
Tuesday 6 May 2014 Thursday 15 May 2014
Friday 9 May 2014 Monday 2 June 2014
Monday 9 June 2014 Tuesday 1 July 2014
Thursday 10 July 2014 Friday 1 August 2014
Friday 8 August 2014 Monday 1 September 2014

Contact electoral services on 020 7926 2254 to find out whether your details are already on the electoral register.