An election for Members of Parliament for the UK Parliament was held on Thursday 12 December 2019.

The UK Parliament is elected at the UK general election. It is made up of two 'Houses' – the House of Commons and the House of Lords.

The House of Commons has 650 Members of Parliament (MPs). Each MP represents a part of the UK called a 'constituency' or 'seat'.

At a general election you have one vote to choose a candidate to represent your constituency in the House of Commons.

Who is eligible to vote?

To vote at the UK general election, you must be registered to vote and:

  • be 18 years of age or over on polling day
  • be a British, Irish or qualifying Commonwealth citizen
  • be resident at an address in the UK (or a UK citizen living abroad who has been registered to vote in the UK in the last 15 years)
  • not be legally excluded from voting.

Find out how you can vote if:

The following cannot vote in a UK Parliament election:

  • Members of the House of Lords
  • EU citizens (other than UK, Republic of Ireland, Cyprus and Malta) resident in the UK
  • Anyone other than British, Irish and qualifying Commonwealth citizens
  • Convicted persons detained in pursuance of their sentences, excluding contempt of court (though remand prisoners, unconvicted prisoners and civil prisoners can vote if they are on the electoral register)
  • Anyone found guilty within the previous five years of corrupt or illegal practices in connection with an election

Important dates

UK Parliamentary general election Date
Deadline to register to vote 26 November (Midnight)
Deadline to apply to vote by post or to make changes to an existing postal or proxy vote 26 November (5pm)
Deadline to apply to vote by proxy 4 December (5pm)
First date that electors can apply for replacements for lost postal votes 6 December
Polling day 12 December (Hours of Poll: 7am-10pm)
Declaration of result 13 December


View the election results.

Lambeth Electoral Services
Town Hall
2 Brixton Hill
Telephone: 020 7926 2254