Brownfield Land Register

Through the Town and Country Planning (Brownfield Land Register) Regulations 2017, Local Planning Authorities in England are required to prepare, maintain and publish registers of previously developed (brownfield) land, which must then be updated at least annually.

"Brownfield Land" is sometimes called "Previously Developed Land (PDL)." A full definition is provided in Annex 2 of the National Planning Policy Framework (NPPF).

Brownfield Land Register: Part 1

All Local Planning Authorities are required to complete Part 1 of the Register. To be considered for inclusion on Part 1 of the Register, any brownfield site must meet the criteria below:

  • The land has an area of at least 0.25 hectares or is capable of supporting at least 5 dwellings. 
  • The land is suitable for residential development.
  • The land is available for residential development. 
  • Residential development of the land is achievable (is likely to take place within 15 years of being entered onto the Register).

Brownfield Land Register: Part 2

Part 2 of a Register can be used to list sites selected from Part 1 that have been granted permission in principle for residential development. Part 2 of the Register is optional for Local Planning Authorities. Lambeth’s Brownfield Land Register does not include a Part 2.

The Government provides further guidance and information about brownfield land registers and permission in principle.

Lambeth’s Brownfield Land Register

Lambeth’s Brownfield Land Register is available to download using the link below.

Site boundaries can be viewed on Lambeth's Open Mapping Portal.

Lambeth’s Brownfield Land Register contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0.

Download the Brownfield Land Register